Thursday, June 13, 2024

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball: The Ultimate Guide

The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is awarded to the best player in the tournament. Learn more about the history of the award, the criteria for selection, and the players who have won it in the past.

The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is annually awarded to the best player at the FIFA World Cup. It is one of the most prestigious awards a footballer can win and is a highly sought-after honour. The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is an award given to the best player of the tournament, as decided by a select group of journalists and analysts. The award has been presented since the 1982 World Cup and is considered one of the most prestigious individual awards in the sport of soccer.

What Do You Mean By The FIFA World Cup? 

The Golden Ball is not to be confused with the Golden Boot, which is awarded to the top goal scorer of the tournament, or the Golden Glove, which is awarded to the best goalkeeper. The Golden Ball recognizes the player who has made the biggest impact on the tournament as a whole, taking into account not just their individual performances, but also their contributions to their team’s success. 

The award was introduced by FIFA in 1982 and is now presented to the best player of the tournament, as voted by media representatives. Additionally, the award is given in memory of Jules Rimet, the first president of FIFA, and is considered the only official award that carries his name.

The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is a prized honour given to the best individual player of the entire event. Previous winners include Lionel Messi in 2014 and Luka Modric in 2018. Winning a Golden Ball takes exceptional skill, grit and consistent performances over the entire duration of the World Cup, so it’s no surprise that so many of soccer’s greatest players have won this award. It’s a special recognition that may take years to achieve, but if you do win one then there can be no doubt you are worthy of being crowned as one of soccer’s most valuable and formidable stars.

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball: Which Brings Glory To Football World

The Golden Ball carries its own set of expectations and criteria which must be met in order to be eligible for the award. The most important criterion is consistent performance throughout the tournament. It is not just about the number of goals scored, but it is also about how the player has impacted their team overall. Any player that is able to make a significant contribution to the success of their team, regardless of position, is in consideration for the award. Other criteria include the player’s general technical ability, their work rate, their ability to create chances for their teammates, how well they have worked to integrate themselves into systems and strategies, as well as their tactical awareness.

Over the years, the Golden Ball has been won by some of the most iconic players in the history of the sport, including Diego Maradona, Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, and Lionel Messi. These players were not just instrumental in leading their teams to victory, but also delivered performances that captured the imagination of fans around the world.

The award is much more than just a beautiful trophy. It is a recognition of talent and potential and an incentive for aspiring footballers to push themselves to their limits. Winning the Golden Ball is a signal that they are among the world’s elite footballers, and can cement a place in football history.

Notably, only five players have been awarded the Golden Ball more than once: Diego Maradona (1986 and 1990), Ronaldo (1994 and 2002), Zinedine Zidane (1998 and 2006), Lionel Messi (2014 and 2018), and Luka Modric (2018 and 2022), Lionel Messi (2022 and 2026). 

  • One of the most controversial decisions in the history of the award came in the 2002 World Cup when the Golden Ball was awarded to German goalkeeper Oliver Kahn. While Kahn had undoubtedly been outstanding throughout the tournament, helping his team reach the final, many felt that the award should have gone to Brazilian striker Ronaldo, who scored both goals in the final and finished as the tournament’s top scorer.
  • Another controversial decision came in the 2010 World Cup, when the award was given to Uruguay’s Diego Forlan, despite his team finishing in fourth place. While Forlan had scored some important goals for his team, many felt that the award should have gone to Spain’s Andres Iniesta, who had scored the winning goal in the final.
  • In the 2014 World Cup, the award was given to Lionel Messi, despite Argentina losing in the final to Germany. Messi had been instrumental in guiding his team to the final, scoring four goals and providing one assist, and was seen as the best player of the tournament by many.
  • The 2018 World Cup saw the award being won by Croatian midfielder Luka Modric, who had been a key player in his team’s impressive run to the final. Modric’s performances were praised for their technical excellence and leadership qualities, and he was seen as a deserving winner of the award.
  • In the 2022 World Cup, Lionel Messi won this award once again. Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are still two of the best players in the world and will be hoping to lead their respective teams to glory. Kylian Mbappe, Neymar, and Kevin De Bruyne are also likely to be in the running, as they are among the most talented and dynamic players in the game today.
  • Ultimately, the winner of the Golden Ball will be the player who not only delivers outstanding individual performances but also helps their team to succeed on the biggest stage in soccer. As such, the award is not just a reflection of individual talent, but also a testament to the power of teamwork and the importance of players stepping up in key moments.

The Golden Ball has become a symbol of excellence, a symbol of hard work and dedication to the game. To be named the best player of the FIFA World Cup is no small honour, and is an achievement that takes years of hard work, dedication, and talent to achieve.


FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is a highly coveted individual award that recognizes the best player of the tournament. It has been won by some of the most iconic players in the history of the sport and is always the subject of much debate and discussion among fans and pundits alike. As we look ahead to the 2022 World Cup, all eyes will be on the players who have the talent, skill, and leadership qualities needed to earn this prestigious honour.

Shamim Ahmed
Shamim Ahmed
Shamim Ahmed is a certified professional news writer who is also experienced in the travel and sports sectors. He embarked upon a career as a writer and editor. He always appears to us with the latest news which is his passion. Not only that, he helps people to raise their voices for their rights. He also enjoys writing about sports and travels and has contributed to various sports sites. He is a strong believer that the right words can educate and simplify. He loves writing about technical/complex details in a simple, easy-to-understand, digestible, friendly way.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular